Baby number two?

13 Mar

I really really want to have another baby, but, I’m also pretty scared. I really don’t want to wait much longer. Lennon will be four in a few months and if we got pregnant around that time Lennon will be almost five by the time the baby arrives. I’ve always wanted two kids, I also wanted to have two children closer together but, things change and things turn out differently than you think sometimes. I’m glad I was able to spend this much time focusing on just Lennon, but I think he could really benefit from having a sibling. However, he really needs to work on how close he gets to others and respect the baby’s personal space. I’m pretty worried about that, we’ll just have to work on it. Well, there are a few things we really need to work on:

1. Potty training. This will be a great help when we have a newborn and although it will be very difficult, I think it can be done. I think… I mean, Lennon’s communication hasn’t been that great, and he still doesn’t seem to notice when he goes. He could run around forever with a poopy diaper and not care. Not a good sign, but we’ll work on it.

2. Lennon has a tendency to run away from me or bolt, that (obviously) scares the HELL out of me! And with a baby in tow, a million times worse.

3. And, like I said above, Lennon likes to poke and get into other peoples personal space. My best friend brought her baby over not too long ago for the first time and Lennon tried to stick his finger in her mouth and was just all up in her business. It can be worked on, he knows what NO means and I think if I say it enough times I will get through to him on this issue. I know he understands when I don’t want him to do something because well, he wont do it or when he does, he gives me this look. You all know it i’m sure, when it comes to the simple no’s, he gets it. But the running away from me thing, that’s a little bit more complex and we have a long ways to go on that one.

4. Outings. Like I said before, Lennon has a hard time staying with me so most of the time I hold his hand when we are walking around at the store or just in areas where he could get really hurt if he got away from me. How am I going to juggle a newborn and Lennon? What if he gets away from me and i’m left standing there with and infant? It’s kind of hard to sprint with a newborn… 

5. My mental state. I’m pretty up and down right now, some days i’m alright, some days I feel pretty awful. I’m planning to explore alternative methods since I am not going to go on medication right now, especially if we plan on having another baby soon. I just read a great book, its called the Depression Cure, the Six Step Program to Defeat Depression Without Drugs. It’s great and I recommend it to anyone looking for natural treatment options. I haven’t started my treatment yet, but i’m hoping that with enough supplements and exercise I will feel better without having to be medicated. I really don’t want to take medication, but if I can’t find some kind of relief from my depression and anxiety naturally, then I can’t see myself wanting to get pregnant anytime soon. 

I really need advice! How do you all do it?! How do you even leave the house with more than one child? Especially if one doesn’t listen so well? If anyone could help me out with this it would be awesome! Ease my mind a little bit! Lennon can communicate, well he does sometimes. He does have some language and I can get his attention but I have to repeat things quite a bit and usually at a high volume. I feel bad about yelling sometimes, well I guess its not yelling but its speaking loudly. If I don’t though it can be hard to get his attention. So, I just need some advice on how you handle outings with your kids on the spectrum and your little ones who aren’t even able to walk yet. Thanks so much! 

4 Responses to “Baby number two?”

  1. Mancakes March 17, 2013 at 4:36 am #

    OK so my situation wasn’t intentional but its turned out perfect… and probably not what you prefer but something to think about. My daughter was 7 when we were surprised with her brother and its been SO easy! I loved the idea of kids born close together but it didn’t happen that way but its been a blessing. She is 15 and he is 7 now and they are the best of friends. So if the thought of two little ones is overwhelming it turns out just as great to wait awhile. Sibling love knows no age. 🙂

    • eml2187 March 17, 2013 at 4:47 am #

      I know, I’m sure it will be ok. I think my son would really benefit from a sibling and that sibling would really benefit from him. I’m just worried about so many things… But I really need to get over all of those worries because its never going to get easier. Thank you for the encouraging words. It makes me feel better to hear about other people’s experiences and the thought it could ever be easy, well, that blows my mind a little! Haha I really really hope it will be something close to easy! (:

      • Mancakes March 17, 2013 at 4:55 am #

        Ha. Well admittedly I am now dealing with a spirited second grade boy while his big sister is in the throes of puberty and high school drama. But when he was a baby and she was at least semi self sufficient…life saver!

      • eml2187 March 17, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

        That sounds fun though! You’re dealing with two completely different stages, I bet there’s never a dull moment! Haha (:

Leave a Reply

